Register to build your agenda.

Panel: Targets and Pathways for Energy Storage Deployment


Julian Boggs
U.S. Energy Storage Association, State Director

As ESA’s State Policy Director, Julian Boggs works to advance energy storage in state legislatures and utility commissions in key states across the country. Previously, he was the Policy Director for the Keystone Energy Efficiency Alliance (KEEA) where he helped secure extension of the state's utility energy efficiency programs, establish Commercial Property Assessed Clean Energy in Pennsylvania,  and was a leading voice in Harrisburg on energy policy. Prior to working at KEEA, Julian played a key role in defending progress on energy efficiency standards in Ohio and worked in Washington D.C. on federal clean energy policy. He has been an advocate for advanced energy policies since 2009 and has a Bachelor’s degree from Colorado College.

Joseph Fiordaliso
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, President

Born and raised in the ironbound-section of Newark, New Jersey, President

Fiordaliso served as a Commissioner on the New Jersey Board of Public

Utilities (NJBPU) since 2005 when he was nominated by Governor Richard

Cody and confirmed by the Senate. In 2011 and 2013, President Fiordaliso

was re-nominated by Governor Chris Christie and confirmed by the Senate to

continue as Commissioner of the NJBPU. On January 15, 2018, he was

appointed by Governor Phil Murphy to serve as President of the NJBPU.

President Fiordaliso was appointed as a member of the State Planning

Commission on December 21, 2018. He also serves on the National

Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ (NARUC) Committee on

Critical Infrastructure and Committee on Energy Resources and the

Environment; is a member of the Executive Committee for the Regional

Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc. (RGGI), is a member and Secretary-Treasurer

of the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissions

(MACRUC), is a member of the National Council on Electricity Policy (NCEP), is

on the Board of Directors of the Organization of PJM States (OPSI), and is also

a member of the Advisory Council to the Board of Directors of the Electric

Power Research Institute (EPRI).

Christopher J. Hansen
Colorado Senate, Senator

Senator Chris Hansen represents Senate District 31 in the Colorado State Senate. He specializes in energy sector economics and data analytics, with 20 years of experience in the global energy industry.  He currently serves on the Joint Budget Committee, as well as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Prior to his work as an elected official, he served as Senior Director at IHS Markit where he led a global portfolio of energy products, events and partnerships. Before joining IHS Markit, Dr. Hansen was a Research Fellow at the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies, where he analyzed electricity and gas sector reform in India and published several papers in professional journals on energy sector economics and policy analysis. Dr. Hansen holds a BSc in Nuclear Engineering from Kansas State University; a Graduate Diploma of Civil Engineering from the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; a Master of Science in Technology Policy from MIT; and a PhD in Economic Geography from Oxford University. In addition to his current role in the state senate, Hansen serves as the Co-Founder and Director of Programming at the Colorado Energy Coalition, Water Institute, and as Co-Founder of the Colorado Science and Engineering Policy Fellowship.

Lea Márquez Peterson
Arizona Corporation Commission, Chairwoman
Daniel Scripps
Michigan Public Service Commission, Chair

States are the laboratories of democracy, and each is charting its own path on energy storage. Officials representing Arizona, Michigan, New Jersey and Colorado, which are in varying stages of energy storage policy development, will discuss on how storage fits into their state’s broader energy strategy.